• info@wapisouthsudan.com

Central Government


South Sudan, has a transitional government formed after gaining independence from Sudan in 2011. The government structure consists of a president, a vice president, a council of ministers, and a national legislature.

The president, currently Salva Kiir Mayardit, serves as the head of state and government. The vice president and council of ministers assist in running the government and implementing policies. The National Legislature comprises the National Legislative Assembly and the Council of States.

However, the country has faced significant challenges, including internal conflicts, economic struggles, and governance issues. There have been periods of conflict between different factions and ethnic groups within the country, leading to humanitarian crises and instability.

Efforts towards stability involve peace agreements and negotiations between different parties, facilitated by regional and international actors. These agreements aim to address power-sharing, security arrangements, and political stability.

Economically, South Sudan has significant oil reserves, but fluctuations in oil prices and disputes over oil revenue sharing have affected the country’s economy. The nation has also faced challenges in building infrastructure, providing basic services, and establishing effective governance structures.

Please note that the situation might have evolved since then, so it’s a good idea to refer to the latest sources or news for the most current information about South Sudan’s government and its status.